Skip to main content

Plant Pathology

Plant Pathology

Smith Lab Members

Click here for lab alumni

Matthew Smith

Matthew Smith holding a giant mushroom

Assistant Professor
Department of Plant Pathology & Curator of the UF Fungal Herbarium (FLAS)
University of Florida
2517 Fifield Hall
Gainesville FL 32611-0680
+1.352.273.2837
trufflesmith@ufl.edu

Gerald "Jerry" Benny

Gerald 'Jerry' Benny

Courtesy Research Professor
Department of Plant Pathology 
Building 737
+1.352.273.4684
gbenny@ufl.edu
Also see Jerry’s website on Zygomycota at: http://zygomycetes.org/

Marcos Caiafa

Ph.D. student

marcos.caiafase@ufl.edu

Arthur Grupe

Arthur Grupe in the woods. member of the smith lab

Smith Lab PhD student 2015-2019

Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Colorado

Agrupe@ufl.edu

Rosanne Healy

Rosanne Healy profile picture

Postdoctoral Researcher – Truffle Systematics and Ecology

rosanne.healy@gmail.com

Michelle Jusino

Postdoctoral Researcher – Ambrosia beetles and fungi - global ecology and evolution (in collaboration with Dr. Jiri Hulcr and the Hulcr Lab)

mjusino@ufl.edu

Elena Karlsen-Ayala

Elena Karlsen-Ayala sitting on a fake pig

Ph.D. student

(co-advised with Dr. Romina Gazis)

ekarlsenayala@ufl.edu

Nattapol Kraisitudomsook

Ph.D. student

kraisin@ufl.edu

Benjamin Lemmond

Ben Lemmond

Ph.D. student

blemmond@ufl.edu

Nicole Reynolds

Nicole Reynolds Photo

Ph.D. Student
+1.352.273.4684
nicolereynolds@ufl.edu

Claudia Paez

Claudia Paez leaning against a tree

Ph.D. student

(co-advised with Dr. Jason Smith)

cpaez@ufl.edu