Skip to main content

Faculty


Ozgur Batuman

Assistant Professor

(239) 658-3408
obatuman@ufl.edu
Location: SW Florida Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Disease management in citrus including greening and black spot.


Jeremy Brawner

Assistant Professor 

(352) 273-4654
jeremybrawner@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Forest Health Genetic Resources, Quantitative genetics and genomics of disease resistance


Profile Photo

Liliana Cano

Assistant Professor

(772) 577-7350
lmcano@ufl.edu
Location: Indian River Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Molecular genetics and genomics of disease resistance in citrus and other crops. Pathogen genomics.


Megan Dewdney thumb

Megan Dewdney

Associate Professor

(863) 956-8651
mmdewdney@ufl.edu
Location: Citrus Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Detection, epidemiology, and management of citrus pathogens.


Braham Dhillon

Braham Dhillon

Assistant Professor

(954) 577-6315
dhillonb@ufl.edu
Location: Ft Lauderdale Research and Education Center
Specialization: Palm Horticulture


Nick Dufault

Associate Professor

(352) 273-4623
nsdufault@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Biology and management of fungal pathogens of row crops, including watermelon and peanut. Fungicide resistance.


svetlana-folimonova-thumb

Svetlana Folimonova

Associate Professor

(352) 273-4655
svetlana@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Plant viruses, virus-host interactions and disease development, plant immunity against viral pathogens, citrus tristeza virus, citrus greening


dean-gabriel-thumb

Dean Gabriel

Professor

(352) 392-7239
dgabr@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Molecular genetics and genomics of bacterial plant pathogens. Xanthomonads and Candidatus Liberibacter spp.


Karren Garrett

Karen Garrett

Preeminent Professor

(352) 273-4647
karengarrett@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Impact network analysis of cropping and pathogen systems. Epidemiology.


thumbnail image of Dr. Gazis

Romina Gazis

Assistant Professor

(786) 217-9276
r.gazisseregina@ufl.edu
Location: Tropical Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Plant disease diagnostics. Disease management in tropical fruits. Fungal ecology and systematics.


Erica Goss

Associate Professor

(352) 273-4650
emgoss@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Population genetics, evolution and emergence of plant pathogens.


Carrie Profile Juner 2016

Carrie Harmon

Extension Specialist

(352) 392-1795
clharmon@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Plant disease detection and diagnosis through the Plant Diagnostic Center


Profile Pic

Phil Harmon

Professor

(352) 273-4622
pfharmon@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Integrated management of diseases on blueberry and turf. Etiology of emerging diseases.


Jeff Jones

Distinguished Professor

(352) 273-4673
jbjones@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Molecular genetics and genomics of bacterial pathogens, particularly Xanthomonads. Biotechnology of disease resistance in tomato and pepper.


Nabil Killiny Profile

Nabil Killiny

Associate Professor

(863) 956-8833
nabilkilliny@ufl.edu
Location: Citrus Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Vector-pathogen-host molecular and biochemical interactions


Amit Levy Photo

Amit Levy

Assistant Professor

(863) 956-8704
amitlevy@ufl.edu
Location: Citrus Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Citrus virology. Cell biology of citrus and psyllid infection with Candidatus Liberibacter spp.


rose-loria-thumb

Rosemary Loria

Department Chair

(352) 273-4634
rloria@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Evolution of plant pathogenicity in the genus Streptomyces. Secondary metabolite production and biotechnology.


Samuel Martins

Samuel Martins

Assistant Professor

(352) 273-4649
sj.martins@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Assessing, manipulating and extracting bacteria from the phytobiome to manage plant disease, improve nutrient uptake and diminish the impact of abiotic stress.


tim-momol-thumb

Timur Momol

Professor

(352) 392-1781
tmomol@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Central District Extension Director, Epidemiology and Management of Tomato Diseases


david norman thumb

David Norman

Associate Professor

(407) 410-6950
djn@ufl.edu
Location: Mid-Florida Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Molecular genetics and genomics of Ralstonia solanacearum. Disease management of ornamental crops.


Mathews Paret

Associate Professor

(850) 875-7154
paret@ufl.edu
Location: North Florida Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Antibacterial Nanomaterials, Field Diagnostics, Integrated Pest Management, International Agriculture


natalia peres thumb

Natalia Peres

Professor

(813) 419-6602
nperes@ufl.edu
Location: Gulf Coast Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Disease etiology and management of strawberries, citrus, and ornamental crops. Crop advisory systems for disease management.


Pam Roberts thumb

Pamela Roberts

Professor

(239) 658-3430
pdr@ufl.edu
Location: SW Florida Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Diagnosis, epidemiology, and integrated management of vegetable diseases. Plant disease diagnosis.


jeff-rollins-thumb

Jeffrey Rollins

Professor

(352) 273-4620
rollinsj@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Molecular biology and genomics of fungal plant pathogens. Pathogenic mechanisms and multicellular developmental. Necrotrophic pathogens particularly Sclerotinia sclerotiorum.


Andy Schuerger thumb

Andy Schuerger

Assistant Professor

(321) 861-3478
schuerg@ufl.edu
Location: Kennedy Space Center
Specialization: Mars Astrobiology, Planetary Protection for spacecraft missions to Mars and Europa, and pathology of hydroponic plants


Ian Small

Ian Small

Assistant Professor

(850) 875-7120
ismall@ufl.edu
Location: North Florida Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Plant disease epidemiology and smart ag crop protection. Digital evaluation of plant phenotypes in relation to genetic selection and management practices.


Matthew Smith

Matthew E. Smith

Associate Professor

(352) 273-2837
trufflesmith@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Fungal Evolution, Ecology and Systematics; special interests in ectomycorrhizal fungi, truffles, zygomycetes
Fungal ID Services


wen-yuan-song-thumb

Wen-Yuan Song

Associate Professor

(352) 273-4652
wsong@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Molecular mechanisms of the plant immune system. Bacterial blight disease of rice caused by Xanthmonas oryzae pv. Oryzae. Plant stress biology.


Brantlee

Brantlee Spakes-Richter

Assistant Professor

(352) 273-2014
bsr@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Teaching & curriculum, diseases of experimental crops and native/naturalized plants


gary vallad thumb

Gary Vallad

Professor

(813) 419-6577
gvallad@ufl.edu
Location: Gulf Coast Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Etiology and management of bacterial and fungal vegetable diseases. Development and implementation of bio-based disease management strategies.


frank-white-thumb

Frank White

Preeminent Professor

(352) 273-4645
ffwhite@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Bacterial virulence effectors, genetics, genomics, and host interactions. Crops include rice, citrus, wheat, tomato, maize


KATIA VIANA XAVIER

Assistant Professor

(561) 993-1500
kvianaxavier@ufl.edu
Location: Everglades Research and Education Center
Specialization: Development of integrated strategies to help growers effectively manage diseases on vegetables, sugarcane, rice, and commercial sod produced in the Everglades Agricultural Area (EAA).


Shouan Zhang thumb

Shouan Zhang

Professor

(786) 217-9233
szhang0007@ufl.edu
Location: Tropical Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Detection, biology, epidemiology, and integrated management of vegetable and tropical fruit diseases.


Assistant Scientists

NameEmail
Rosanne Healy rhealy1@ufl.edu
Jose Huguet-Tapia jhuguet@ufl.edu
Mukesh Jain mjain@ufl.edu
Chenggang Wang chenggangwang@ufl.edu