Skip to main content

Plant Pathology

Plant Pathology

Faculty


Ozgur Batuman

Assistant Professor

(239) 658-3408
obatuman@ufl.edu
Location: SW Florida Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Disease management in citrus including greening and black spot.


Jeremy Brawner

Assistant Professor 

(352) 273-4645
jeremybrawner@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Forest Health Genetic Resources, Quantitative genetics and genomics of disease resistance


Profile Photo

Liliana Cano

Assistant Professor

(772) 577-7350
lmcano@ufl.edu
Location: Indian River Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Molecular genetics and genomics of disease resistance in citrus and other crops. Pathogen genomics.


Megan Dewdney thumb

Megan Dewdney

Associate Professor

(863) 956-8651
mmdewdney@ufl.edu
Location: Citrus Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Detection, epidemiology, and management of citrus pathogens.


Nick Dufault

Associate Professor

(352) 273-4623
nsdufault@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Biology and management of fungal pathogens of row crops, including watermelon and peanut. Fungicide resistance.


svetlana-folimonova-thumb

Svetlana Folimonova

Associate Professor

(352) 273-4655
svetlana@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Plant viruses, virus-host interactions and disease development, plant immunity against viral pathogens, citrus tristeza virus, citrus greening


dean-gabriel-thumb

Dean Gabriel

Professor

(352) 392-7239
dgabr@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Molecular genetics and genomics of bacterial plant pathogens. Xanthomonads and Candidatus Liberibacter spp.


karen-garrett-thumb

Karen Garrett

Preeminent Professor

(352) 273-4647
karengarrett@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Impact network analysis of cropping and pathogen systems. Epidemiology.


thumbnail image of Dr. Gazis

Romina Gazis

Assistant Professor

(786) 217-9276
r.gazisseregina@ufl.edu
Location: Tropical Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Plant disease diagnostics. Disease management in tropical fruits. Fungal ecology and systematics.


Erica Goss

Associate Professor

(352) 273-4650
emgoss@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Population genetics, evolution and emergence of plant pathogens.


Carrie Profile Juner 2016

Carrie Harmon

Extension Specialist

(352) 392-1795
clharmon@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Plant disease detection and diagnosis through the Plant Diagnostic Center


Profile Pic

Phil Harmon

Professor

(352) 273-4622
pfharmon@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Integrated management of diseases on blueberry and turf. Etiology of emerging diseases.


Jeff Jones

Distinguished Professor

(352) 273-4673
jbjones@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Molecular genetics and genomics of bacterial pathogens, particularly Xanthomonads. Biotechnology of disease resistance in tomato and pepper.


Nabil Killiny Profile

Nabil Killiny

Associate Professor

(863) 956-8833
nabilkilliny@ufl.edu
Location: Citrus Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Vector-pathogen-host molecular and biochemical interactions


Amit Levy Photo

Amit Levy

Assistant Professor

(863) 956-8704
amitlevy@ufl.edu
Location: Citrus Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Citrus virology. Cell biology of citrus and psyllid infection with Candidatus Liberibacter spp.


rose-loria-thumb

Rosemary Loria

Department Chair

(352) 273-4634
rloria@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Evolution of plant pathogenicity in the genus Streptomyces. Secondary metabolite production and biotechnology.


tim-momol-thumb

Timur Momol

Professor

(352) 392-1781
tmomol@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Central District Extension Director, Epidemiology and Management of Tomato Diseases


david norman thumb

David Norman

Professor

(407) 410-6950
djn@ufl.edu
Location: Mid-Florida Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Molecular genetics and genomics of Ralstonia solanacearum. Disease management of ornamental crops.


Mathews Paret

Assistant Professor

(850) 875-7154
paret@ufl.edu
Location: North Florida Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Antibacterial Nanomaterials, Field Diagnostics, Integrated Pest Management, International Agriculture


natalia peres thumb

Natalia Peres

Professor

(813) 419-6602
nperes@ufl.edu
Location: Gulf Coast Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Disease etiology and management of strawberries, citrus, and ornamental crops. Crop advisory systems for disease management.


jane-polston-thumb

Jane Polston

Professor

(352) 273-4627
jep@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Plant virology and biotechnology of disease vectoring. Tospoviruses.


Richard Raid thumb

Richard Raid

Professor

(561) 993-1564
rnraid@ufl.edu
Location: Everglades Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Disease etiology and management on vegetable crops, herbs, and sugarcane. Barn owls for agricultural rodent control and STEM education.


Profile Pic

Brantlee Spakes-Richter

Assistant Professor

(352) 273-2014
bsr@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Teaching & curriculum, diseases of experimental crops and native/naturalized plants


jeff-rollins-thumb

Jeffrey Rollins

Professor

(352) 273-4620
rollinsj@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Molecular biology and genomics of fungal plant pathogens. Pathogenic mechanisms and multicellular developmental. Necrotrophic pathogens particularly Sclerotinia sclerotiorum.


Pam Roberts thumb

Pamela Roberts

Professor

(239) 658-3430
pdr@ufl.edu
Location: SW Florida Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Diagnosis, epidemiology, and integrated management of vegetable diseases. Plant disease diagnosis.


Andy Schuerger thumb

Andy Schuerger

Assistant Professor

(321) 861-3478
schuerg@ufl.edu
Location: Kennedy Space Center
Specialization: Mars Astrobiology, Planetary Protection for spacecraft missions to Mars and Europa, and pathology of hydroponic plants


Ian Small

Assistant Professor

(850) 875-7120
ismall@ufl.edu
Location: North Florida Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Plant disease epidemiology and smart ag crop protection. Digital evaluation of plant phenotypes in relation to genetic selection and management practices.


Matthew Smith

Matthew E. Smith

Associate Professor

(352) 273-2837
trufflesmith@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Fungal Evolution, Ecology and Systematics; special interests in ectomycorrhizal fungi, truffles, zygomycetes


wen-yuan-song-thumb

Wen-Yuan Song

Associate Professor

(352) 273-4652
wsong@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Molecular mechanisms of the plant immune system. Bacterial blight disease of rice caused by Xanthmonas oryzae pv. Oryzae. Plant stress biology.


gary vallad thumb

Gary Vallad

Associate Professor

(813) 419-6577
gvallad@ufl.edu
Location: Gulf Coast Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Etiology and management of bacterial and fungal vegetable diseases. Development and implementation of bio-based disease management strategies.


frank-white-thumb

Frank White

Preeminent Professor

(352) 273-4645
ffwhite@ufl.edu
Location: Gainesville
Specialization: Bacterial virulence effectors, genetics, genomics, and host interactions. Crops include rice, citrus, wheat, tomato, maize


Shouan Zhang thumb

Shouan Zhang

Associate Professor

(786) 217-9233
szhang0007@ufl.edu
Location: Tropical Research & Education Center Plant Diagnostic Clinic
Specialization: Detection, biology, epidemiology, and integrated management of vegetable and tropical fruit diseases.


Assistant Scientists

NameEmail
Rosaria Healy rhealy1@ufl.edu
Jose Huguet-Tapia jhuguet@ufl.edu
Mukesh Jain mjain@ufl.edu
Sung Hwan Kang shkang@ufl.edu